Git for Windows

Git is the popular source control tool which has become the darling of the internet. Unlike subversion, git keeps a local copy of the repository, allowing offline commits. This makes it a lot harder to do a full Windows port. Luckily, there is a package called msygit, which has all the dependencies bundled with it.

The default is to run git in a BASH prompt, but I can’t imagine why you would want to do that. If I’m running on the windows command prompt for other stuff, I don’t want to switch out of it into some hackish BASH prompt to run git. I just switch that option and let the good times roll.

Line endings are a little more complication. I use the default “check out Windows style, check in Unix style”, but I’m thinking to fine tune that a bit. Any good Windows text editor can handle Unix line breaks. If I’m doing a module for MediaWiki or Drupal, I might force it to stay in Unix mode. Conversely, if I’m doing something very windows-centric like ADSI or WMI scripts in PHP (or even VBS), then I’ll want it Windows style on the remote side. The idea is that if someone were to download a ZIP of a repo from git hub, they should be able to view that file using the native console tool (cat or type), and not have some crazy line breaks. More information about handling it is in the GitHub help article “Dealing with line endings“.

One other small thing is that on Windows systems with an NTLM proxy (looking at you TMG), you need to specify the proxy settings in the environment variable http_proxy and https_proxy. Setting it in http.proxy didn’t seem to do the job. I found a bunch of posts dealing with this, and having something to do with git not calling –proxy-ntlm on cURL and it being a hassle to override. I wimped out and used the environment variable.

About robertlabrie
DevOps Engineer at The Network Inc in metro Atlanta. Too many interests to list here, check out my posts, or look me up on LinkedIn

One Response to Git for Windows

Leave a Reply

