Trusting self-signed certificates in Windows

I had a requirement for users on a computer to automatically trust that computers self-signed certificate. I’m generating and managing these certificates with PowerShell. Googling left me with two general themes:

  1. Use some 3rd party app
  2. Terrible idea! Depraved hackers will eat your brain!

I didn’t want to use a 3rd party app, and I’m not scared of hackers. Eventually I got it, so I’m sharing it with the world.

New-SelfSignedCertificate -DnsName "*.mydomain.com" -CertStoreLocation Cert:\LocalMachine\My
$cert = Get-Item Cert:\LocalMachine\My\* | Where-Object {$_.Subject -eq "CN=*.mydomain.com"}
Export-PfxCertificate -Cert $cert -FilePath $ENV:TEMP\cert.pfx -Password (ConvertTo-SecureString "somepassword" -AsPlainText -Force)
Import-PfxCertificate -FilePath $ENV:TEMP\cert.pfx -Password (ConvertTo-SecureString "somepassword" -AsPlainText -Force) -CertStoreLocation Cert:\LocalMachine\TrustedPeople

New-SelfSignedCertificate is the cmdlet, but it won’t let you stick it in LocalMachine\TrustedPeople. This is why you need to export it as a PFX and re-import it. When you import it, you can put it in TrustedPeople.

About robertlabrie
DevOps Engineer at The Network Inc in metro Atlanta. Too many interests to list here, check out my posts, or look me up on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

